United States time zone

Who I am
Martí Micolau
@martimicolau
SOURCES CONSULTED:

wikipedia.org, lonelyplanet.com

Author and references

Index

  • Time Zone and DST in the United States
  • Summer time in the various states of the USA

Time Zone and DST in the United States

Having the United States almost continental expansion, we can find well six different time zones (below are given with respect to Spain (GMT +1):

EAST COAST -6 CENTRAL - 7 MONTAGNE -8 WEST COAST -9 ALASKA -10 HAWAII -11

example:



  • Roma – 12:00;
  • New York – 06:00 (a.m.);
  • Chicago, IL – 05:00 (a.m.);
  • Denver, CO – 04:00 (a.m.);
  • Los Angeles, CA – 03:00(a.m.);
  • Juneau, AK – 02:00 (a.m.);
  • Honolulu, HI – 01:00 (am)

Summer time in the various states of the USA

Almost the American states observe daylight saving time (DST), the states that they do not observe it they are: Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa.



Daylight saving time comes into effect on second Sunday of March while the solar time returns on the first Sunday of November. As for Arizona, the Navajo territories are distinguished from the rest of the state by using daylight saving time.

This information must be taken into account when visiting parks such as Monument Valley, as within a few kilometers you change by an hour.


add a comment of United States time zone
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.