Italian UNESCO sites by region: Central Italy

Who I am
Lluis Enric Mayans

Author and references

Our journey to discover the wonders of the beautiful country, monuments and gods UNESCO World Heritage Sites, rewarded and protected for their immense value. This time we move to the regions of center of Italy placing the magnifying glass on: Abruzzo, Tuscany., Umbria, Latium e Walk. Here is the list by region.


  1. Abruzzo
  2. Tuscany.
  3. Walk
  4. Umbria
  5. Latium
  6. User questions and comments


  • the beech woods of the National Park of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise, which are part of the Primeval forests of the Carpathian and other European beech trees, included in the list in 2017.


  • Historic center of Florence, Listed in 1982
  • Square of Miracles (Pisa), Listed in 1987
  • Historic center of San Gimignano, Listed in 1990
  • Historic center of Siena, Listed in 1995
  • Historic center of Pienza, Listed in 1996
  • Val d'Orcia, Listed in 2004
  • Medici villas and gardens in Tuscany: includes Villa di Cafaggiolo (Barberino di Mugello); Villa del Trebbio (Scarperia and San Piero); Villa of Careggi (Florence); Medici Villa of Fiesole (Fiesole); Villa of Poggio a Caiano (Poggio a Caiano); Villa di Castello Florence); Villa La Petraia (Florence); Boboli Gardens (Florence); Villa of Cerreto Guidi (Cerreto Guidi); Seravezza Palace (Seravezza); Villa of Poggio Imperiale (Florence); Garden of Pratolino (Vaglia); Villa La Magia (Quarrata); Villa of Artimino (Carmignano). Listed in 2013.
  • Forest of Sasso Fratino, is part of the Primeval beech forests of the Carpathians and other regions of Europe - 2017


Le Walk are a land appreciated above all for its remarkable food and wine richness, it is no coincidence that the region is known in Italy and in the world for the excellent wine produced from the fruits of its countryside.
The city awarded by UNESCO in 1998 is Urbino, which stands out for its marvelous Renaissance historic center, inside which stands the fabulous Palazzo Ducale. Also near the city center is the headquarters of the National Gallery of the Marche

  • The historic center of Urbino, added to the list in 1998.


  • Assisi, the basilica of San Francesco and other Franciscan places: includes the city of Assisi, San Damiano, the Eremo delle Carceri, the Sanctuary of Rivotorto and the historical landscape; Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli and Palazzo del Capitano (Assisi). Listed in 2000.
  • Church of San Salvatore (Spoleto) and Tempietto del Clitunno (Campello sul Clitunno), which are part of the Places of power of the Lombards in Italy, included in the list in 2011.


  • Historic center of Rome, the extraterritorial properties of the Holy See in the city and the Basilica of San Paolo fuori le mura: Includes Rome's historic center, San Giovanni in Laterano complex: Basilica, Lateran Apostolic Palace, annexed buildings, Scala Santa complex, Santa Maria Maggiore complex: Basilica and annexed buildings, Palazzo di San Callisto, Buildings on via Sant'Egidio , Palazzo della Cancelleria, Palazzo di Propaganda Fide, in Piazza di Spagna, Palazzo Maffei, Palazzo dei Convertendi, Palazzo dei Propylaea - north and south, Palazzo Pio, Buildings on the Janiculum Hill, Palazzo del Sant'Uffizio, Basilica of San Paolo fuori le walls. Listed in 1980.
  • Villa Adriana (TiFlights), included in the list in 1999
  • Villa d'Este (TiFlights), included in the list in 2001
  • Etruscan necropolis of Cerveteri and Tarquinia, included in the list in 2004
  • the Forest of Monte Raschio (Oriolo Romano) and the Forest of Monte Cimino. They are part of the primordial beech forests of the Carpathians and other regions of Europe, included in the list in 2017.

Audio Video Italian UNESCO sites by region: Central Italy
add a comment of Italian UNESCO sites by region: Central Italy
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.