Geography of the United States

Who I am
Joel Fulleda

Author and references

- United States include, in addition to the 48 major states, Alaska (the largest of the states), Hawaii, and various territories in the Caribbean and the Pacific, including Puerto Rico (or Puerto Rico), which is linked to the United States in an association called Commonwealth. The District of Columbia contains the capital Washington, and originally belonged to Maryland (and up until the Civil War it also included a piece of Virginia). The main states are roughly divided into those of the east coast (East Coast), the south (South), the Midwest, the mountainous area (Mountain states, including the Southwest), and the west coast (West Coast).

The east coast states are, from north to south, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont (which is not on the coast), Massachusetts, Rhode Island (the smallest of the states), Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania (which is close to the coast and whose western half is often considered part of the Midwest), New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida.

The last 5 (from Virginia) are also counted as Southern states. Geographically this area includes low and very old mountains, the Appalachians, with a trend generally from north-east to south-west, as well as many local phenomena, including phenomena to the north, the tectonic faults of the Hudson Valley, and the limestone (coral) area of ​​Florida. The course of the rivers is generally from west to east. Rivers tend to be limited in length but wide and smoothly flowing. The tides are often strong, especially in the north. Winters are cold (in the north) or moderate (in the south) and humid, summers equally humid.

Capitol Reef National Park in Utah. Southern states include the aforementioned Virginia, North / South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and also West Virginia (often considered part of the Midwest, as it was on the northern side in the civil war) , Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas (often considered among the southwestern states). This area includes the southern part (and the highest peaks) of the Appalachians, and further west the Ozark Mountains.

The rivers include the mouths of the Mississippi and the Río Grande. The greatest climatic influence comes from the Gulf of Mexico, and includes mild winters, humidity, and occasional hurricanes. Midwestern states include Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Wisconsin, Illinois, Missouri, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas. They are mostly agricultural and industrial states (including the "rust belt", the industrial area "rusted" in the 70s and 80s by competition, especially Japanese), cold in winter, hot in summer, with humid climate (to the east) dry (to the west). This is where the "heartland" of the United States is located, and is considered a center of moral values ​​(serious work, home and family, prairie pioneers, and so on) for the rest of the country.

Mountain zone states include Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico. The last four are also often considered to be the Southwestern states. Dry area, especially in the south, with many deserts (Sonoran desert) and the Rocky Mountains. Very cold winters and mild summers in the north, mild winters and hot summers in the south. This is the least populated area in the country, and is where many of the scenic destinations in the United States are located, for example the Grand Canyon (Arizona) and Yellowstone (Wyoming). The geography of the west coast (Washington, Oregon, California) includes high mountains (Sierra Nevada, various volcanoes), deserts (Death Valley), and very humid areas (the coast, especially to the north).


  • Statistics on States
  • Capitals of the 50 states
  • The main cities
  • The main rivers
  • The main lakes, mountains and islands

add a comment of Geography of the United States
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.